Delivery

I won’t go into too much detail about the delivery of our sweet baby girl. I will however give you the best advice I can: go into you labour and delivery with an open mind. You can plan every detail you want, but at that moment, your baby’s safety and health (and yours too) might require a change of plan.

Like most, I had planned a natural delivery. I decided that if I needed an epidural I would take it, but I wanted to see what the pain was like first and if I could handle it. I also had planned to do skin-on-skin immediately after she entered this world. I imagined what the birth would be like, and yet things didn’t turn out as planned after all.

After my water broke I waited for my husband to get home from work.  Actually, my water didn’t really “break” per se. It was more like a slow trickle which made me question if it was even my water at all. After a few hours of this trickling, I called the hospital to tell them what was happening and the nurse on the phone told me to come in. So my husband and I got in the car and headed to the hospital with our bags which were already packed. We were both very calm and serene during the drive. Maybe because we weren’t even sure my water had broken yet. Maybe because it was hard for us to believe our baby was finally going to arrive. Once the doctor examined me she confirmed that my water had broke and that our baby was on her way! My contractions started off pretty mild and very quickly got much worse. The pain eventually became unbearable and I requested the epidural. The epidural was a bit scary to me but but my fear of it was overcome by the terrible labour pains.

Once the epidural kicked in, I was able to rest. My husband and mom tried to get some sleep in the uncomfortable visitor chairs while I lay in the hospital bed, anxious and already tired. Hours later, and once I was dilated enough, the nurse came in and had me start pushing. On her command I pushed and pushed (or at least I think I was pushing because I couldn’t feel anything!).

To make a long story short, I pushed for two straight hours with no success.  Our baby would not fit through my birth canal. So, after becoming exhausted from pushing,  the doctor performed an emergency c-section. So there it was, after all the planning and picturing the birth a certain way, things changed and I just had to accept it. Before I knew it, our baby girl was here.

During and after the surgery I had uncontrollable shaking throughout my body, which most women get as a side effect from the epidural. I was also very  tired and could barely keep my eyes open. So I actually didn’t hold our baby until about an hour or two after the delivery. Instead, my husband held her and took care of her. He did an amazing job.

 

 

Leave a Reply

